Ancient

tumblr_nw5vil2GoT1sk6vtao1_1280

I’m tired
of all the lives I’ve led
of all the skin I’ve shed

I have memories of earth when it was habitable
I have memories of the first war
I’ll show you everything you’ll ever see
they’re starting to get exhausting
these prophecies

déjà vu this
jamais vu that

I watch people cry and I want to tell them
it does not matter
almost nothing does
I watch people listen to music and I want to tell them
yes, yes, yes!

 I saw humans fight for ideas
decade after decade
in a tireless search
for purpose

I watch people think that they love each other
I watch them actually love each other
I watch them realize the difference
and I sigh

I have seen the fall of Babylon
I have walked among the shelves of Alexandria
I have been in Christ’s sheets
and in Beatles’ shows

I remember everything
it’s paralyzing
deafening
to merely
think

out of all the bullets I’ve been shot
out of all the times I’ve drowned
nothing hurt me
like finding people
and knowing well
how they’ll end

out of all the lovers I’ve wed
out of all the children I’ve fed
nothing was more soul shattering
than art

and between a life and another
I sometimes stumbled upon a treasure

a soul

worth remembering

Leave a Reply

