Lousy Attempt

How many times did you say those words
this morning?
I can’t remember
It’s hard to remember a dream

But I remember how they felt
I remember waking up
looking at the ceiling
then going back to sleep

Sleep is a way of
procrastination
avoidance
denial
and therapy

I hate it
I love it
The same way
I feel about most things

How can I describe this?

It’s like you’re on a boat
looking at the sky
instead of the sea
with your arms cut off

Makes no sense, I know.
Let me try again.

It’s like
your awaited book is being released
but the bookstore is closing up

Still not sappy enough.

It’s like
your favorite band breaking up
and never sounding the same again

Alright, I give up.
I’m not going to explain this.

Leave a Reply

